August Wilson’s Plays in Written Order

By Mike Downing

1979 – Jitney

1982 – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

1983 – Fences

1984 – Joe Turner’s Come and Gone

1986 – The Piano Lesson

1990 – Two Trains Running

1995 – Seven Guitars

2001 – King Hedley II

2003 – Gem of the Ocean

2005 – Radio Golf


3 Replies to “August Wilson’s Plays in Written Order”

  1. More of a question – do you know of any filmed versions of August Wilson’s plays? Primarily, Fences and Jitney. Thanks.

    1. There is only one: “The Piano Lesson” was filmed in Pittsburgh as a Hallmark Hall of Fame production. It is very well done, in my opinion, and captures the tenor of Wilson’s play (he wrote the teleplay). Unfortunately, his other works have not been translated to film for a variety of reasons, among them is the fact that Wilson wanted a black director to do “Fences”. At this point, The August Wilson Estate has been mum on this issue, so we can only wait and hope.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s