Update: June 17, 2016: Denzel Films Fences in Pittsburgh

17 Jun

By Mike Downing

It’s been a while since my last post.  My attention is getting pulled in too many directions because I have too many August Wilson projects.  It’s all good, but emerging responsibilities are preventing me from attending to the blog.

Specifically, I’m working on an essay and a book related to Wilson, along with revising the official proposal for the August Wilson Journal.  I’m also trying to think about classes for fall, which includes revising syllabi and revising a journalism handbook that I’ve written specifically for my journalism writing classes.

Actually, I’d like to take this opportunity to advertise the fact that if anyone out there might like to take over this blog, please contact me.  I would love it if someone could commit to one post per month.  I can help with details, but it’s going to get increasingly difficult for me to attend to this project, especially once the journal is established.

I’m at downing[at]kutztown.edu

The latest on Wilson:  I am totally excited about Denzel Washington’s filming of Fences in Pittsburgh.  The Pittsburgh Post-Gazette has published 11 photos of some of the people and props to be used in the film, particularly several of the vintage vehicles.

Click here for the link to the article.  I’ve posted three of the photos above.

 

 

Leave a Reply

